How to consume halal ?
The term halal is a concept emanating from the Muslim scriptural sources: The Koran and the Sunna.
It defines what is permissible and permissible in the life of a Muslim. It is opposed to “Harâm” which refers to what is prohibited.
Halal is a means and a condition for the path to the Creator and is therefore of fundamental importance to Muslims.
The notions of halal and harâm concern different aspects of the Muslim’s life and notably his food.
Food in Islam
“Dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, anything that has been killed under the invocation of another name than that of God, animals that have been suffocated, stunned, killed by some fall or by a blow from the horn; those that have been cut by a ferocious beast, unless you have purified them by bleeding; that which has been sacrificed at the altars of idols; all of this is forbidden to you. Do not divide them among yourselves by consulting the arrows, for this is impiety. Despair awaits those who have denied your religion; do not fear them, fear me.”
Quran (Sura 5 The Served Table (Al-Maidah), verse 3).
By definition, all food of non-animal origin is considered Halal except for intoxicating products such as wines, harmful products such as poisons, hallucinatory products such as drugs, defilements such as blood and products containing any of these as an additive, even in small quantities.
Legal meat (Halal)
See our legal and religious references
The work carried out by the ARGML over the years can only be successful if the consumer himself becomes a major player in the market. Everyone must be aware of their responsibilities and rights when it comes to consuming Halal.
How to eat Halal ?
Actions that the consumer must take
To require from the distributor the sale of products controlled and certified Halal by an independent organization, recognized for its integrity, and its seriousness.
To take responsibility and exercise critical thinking when choosing Halal products.
Refrain from consuming questionable products
To be informed on the practices of the industrialists and the organizations of control and certification Halal.
Organize yourself into a consumer association to assert your rights.
A doubt about an additive?
Ask a question to our association
Additives to avoid
The foods we eat often contain several additives. They are noted on the packaging in all letters or in corresponding numbers (European numbering). Among them, some are of animal origin (not certified halal) and should not be consumed:
E 120: (colorant) Cochineal red (insect)
E 441, E 485, E 542: Gelatin
Note: Gelatin is a protein obtained by the action of hot water (hydrolysis) on the collagen of animal tissue of porcine or bovine origin only. There is no such thing as vegetable gelatin.
The following additives can be of vegetable or animal origin (not halal certified). Contact consumer services to verify their origin. If they are not clearly identified as being of vegetable origin, they should be avoided. Warning: do not confuse “gelatin” which is of animal origin, with “gelling agents” which are of vegetable origin such as: Guarn Carob, Carrageenan, Corn or Rice Starch.
Lecithins (except soy lecithin which is of vegetable origin)
Fatty acid salts
Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
Acetic acid esters of di-glycerides of fatty acids
Sucroesters of fatty acids
Sucro-glycerides of fatty acids
Propylene glycol esters of fatty acids
Consuming Halal with the ARGML
On a daily basis, the ARGML is involved with consumers by taking responsibility for ritual control and halal certification of products. Not delegating this mission to independent companies allows ARGML to keep the following commitments:
Permanent control of all the stages of product elaboration (from slaughter to final packaging)
Respect for the strictest Islamic principles
Professionalism, quality, rigor
Transparency and information
Download the procedure
ARGML Halal control and certification procedure in poultry slaughterhouses
What is electronarcosis?
Electronarcosis is a process of anaesthetization of poultry for slaughter. It consists in using a basin of slightly electrified water in which the poultry hanging on the chain passes before the slaughtering station.
Your guarantees with the ARGML logo
All about the guarantees offered by the ARGML logo on a product
As a recognized Halal certification body, our association must propose and implement a strict ritual control system for industrialists, locked by numerous control steps.
It is then up to the consumer and consumer associations to differentiate between a truly Halal product, which offers all the guarantees of certification and another.
When making a purchase, the Muslim consumer should pay special attention to the certification on the product. Thus, a label with a stylized Halal mention or pictures evocative of the Arab-Islamic culture can in no way be considered as a reliable guarantee. The affixing of a logo (label or other elements of traceability) of a halal certification body recognized for its integrity, its permanent rigor and its seriousness remains essential.
In case of doubt about the halal certification of a product, the consumer must take the initiative to contact the certification body affixing its logo on the packaging in order to know the Halal guarantees offered when purchasing this product (slaughter method, control, traceability, etc.).
The presence of a certification logo is not enough, you have to check what is set up by the certification bodies and do not hesitate to ask them questions. Some productions require the presence of controllers at each stage and a permanent control.
Under the moral responsibility of the Great Mosque of Lyon
The ARGML is an association created in 1995 by the Great Mosque of Lyon, in order to allow Muslim consumers to have access to products in accordance with their religious ethics. Its headquarters are based in Lyon, within the walls of the Great Mosque.
Halal news in France and in the World
Record beaten🏆: 2100 hot meals of #iftar (breaking of the fast) in one day! prepared and distributed on the eve of the 27th day of the month of #Ramadan, as part of the operation "#ChorbaduCœur"❤️, organized by The Great Mosque of Lyon, in partnership with the...
Harām (حرام, harām) is an Arabic adjective that in Islam describes anything that is "forbidden, inviolable, sacred" according to sharia law. In its ambiguity, it corresponds most closely to the concept of taboo in German. The opposite of harām is halāl (حلال), which...
Follow us on Instagram!
Join the ARGML community to help ensure that Muslims consume Halal
ARGML, 146 Boulevard Pinel 69008 Lyon
+33 (0)4 78 78 18 05
argml @ mosquee-lyon.org
Opening hours (UTC/GMT +1)
Mon – Fri : 9am – 5pm